Taunton State Hospital was the second state asylum in Massachusetts. Built in 1853, the facility was constructed in a unique and rare neo-classical style designed by architects Boyden & Ball. The complex was expanded at various times to include over forty buildings and structures. The main part of the hospital (known as "the Kirkbride Building") closed in 1975. One of the building's most beautiful features was its curved breezeways, which were added in the 1890s to connect the end of the wards to the hospital's infirmary buildings. In 1975, the main part of the hospital was closed and abandoned. In May of 2009, the hospital was demolished.